India Has The Best Stuff And I Found Some Ornate Opulent Door Handle, Escutcheon, Door Knocker, and Pad Lock Awesomeness From Aakrati Brassware On Ali Baba To Decorate With

If you’ve read any of my previous posts, you probably know that I am a interior design student and I have a company called RAVARLAGARI. While I was browsing around www.AliBaba.com, partially for inspiration (I love the style of South East Asia) and partially to find beautiful things to sell in my etsy shop, I came across Aakrati Brasswares (they also have their own website, www.aakratibrass.com). Oh my goodness. It was love at first sight for so many of their items (and no, they didn’t pay me to put this post up. I don’t know them and I don’t think they even know I wrote about them honestly). I love a beautiful, out of the ordinary detail, especially hardware like doorknobs, door escutcheons, doorknockers, electrical outlet and lightswitch plate covers, things like that. They are so unexpected, but they add a element of joy and whimsy to a otherwise menial task like opening the door, locking something, opening a drawer or turning on a light.

The metal work and hardware at Aakrati Brassware is just so imaginative, fun, and interesting I just had to share it with you. If/when I have a house of my home and/or design and style people’s houses and businesses, I can totally see myself being a big client of Aakrati Brasswares. Just look!

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com silver mandala door handles

Gorgeous luxe mandala door handles. Opening a door with these would make me feel like I was walking into a palace

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com bronze gecko orient icon door handles

One of my absolute favorites of these door handles, this is just so beautiful and exotic. You just KNOW there is a incredible story behind this. Utilitarian art.
It also reminds me a bit of a mid-century Tiki restaurant, like Trader Vic’s.
LOVE
Size: 15 centimeters (6 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass tribal figure door  handles

Very cool Tribal Villager Guy door handle. I pretty much love anything tribal too.
Size: 25 cm (10 inches)

aakratibrasswares alibaba com Iko Viking brass door handle knob

Who is this guy? A Viking? A member of Genghis Kahn’s Mongolian horde? Ico from the video game Ico? Whoever he is, he looks like quite a character.
Size: 22 cm (8.66 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com bronze ancient spork anachronism handles

SPORK!!!! Need I say more?
Size: 19 cm (7.5 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com bronze sitar door handles

For the musician in your life, SITAR DOOR HANDLES!
(I wonder what my band director would say if these were installed on the band hall bathroom doors)
Size: 25 cm (10 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com seahorse door handle

How much do I love the idea of seahorse door handles? SO MUCH.
Size: 15 cm (6 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com bronze ornate peacock door handles

Words escape me at how awesome PEACOCK door handles are. I think this one is very well done.
Size: 23 cm (9 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass peacock double door handles

Whimsical peacock tropical paradise pheasant door pulls. Cute.

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass Chinese long dragon door  handles

Mad awesome Chinese dragon longs double door handles. I so want these for my house.
Wouldn’t they be perfectly impressive for a restaurant or shop too though?
Size: 28 cm (11 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com bronze Chinese dragon cute door handles

This guy’s got personality! Verdigris Asian dragon door handle.
Size: 15 cm (6 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com elephant door handle brass escutcheon sizes

Gorgeous palatial regal golden brass elephant door handles in 3 sizes.

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com elephant door handle ornate gold

Another incredible stately elephant door pull. My favorite of the elephant door handles.

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass jeweled elephant fancy door handles

JEWELED ELEPHANTS! Whoa!
Seriously, can you imagine using these to open the door with these?! It would turn going in and out into a real experience. Very rich.
Size: 20 cm (8 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com elephant door handle ornate traditional

Bohemian ornate elephant door handles. The elephants are wearing decorations like they would for a celebration.

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com elephant door handle escutcheon bohemian

Tribal elephant door handles with rangoli-shaped escutcheons.
Size: 20 cm (8 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com bronze gecko double door handles

Tropical gecko pulls, like for a beach house or palapa. Margaritas, anyone?
Size: 13 cm (5 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com bronze lizard door handles

Another gecko or lizard
Size: 14 cm (5.5 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com bronze gecko lizard door handles

And another gecko!
Size: 13 cm (5 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass ornate naga cobra snake door handles

Cobra door handle
Size: 22 cm (8.5 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass glass jewel furniture handles

Aren’t these incredible? If Aladdin’s cave had drawer pulls anywhere, it wouldn’t surprise me a bit if they looked like these incredible faceted jewel-like glass pieces.

DOOR KNOCKERS AWESOMENESS

Yep, Aakrati Brassware makes drool-worthy doorknockers too. Here is a small sample of what they offer.

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass mouse door knocker

REDWAAAAALLLLLL!!!!!
Size: 9 X 9 cm (3.5 x 3.5 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com side hedgehog door knocker

I also think of Redwall when I see this one too.
I guess it goes without saying that the Redwall series is some of my favorite books. I would love having these on my door for that very reason.
Size: 11 x 9 cm (4.3 x 3.5 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com aerial view hedgehog doorknocker

Aerial view of hedgehog doorknocker
Size: 10 x 5 cm (4 x 2 inches)

I guess this could also have to do with Redwall (Marlfox, anyone?) but he looks like such a friendly fox I think it is more likely that he would be the fox briefly mentioned near the beginning of The Fellowship Of The Ring. In any case, literary or not, this fox is darn cute and rather homey.

I guess this could also have to do with Redwall (Marlfox, anyone?) but he looks like such a friendly fox I think it is more likely that he would be the fox briefly mentioned near the beginning of The Fellowship Of The Ring. In any case, literary or not, this fox is darn cute and rather homey.
Size: 15 x 5 cm (6 x 2 inches)

Redwall squirrel loveliness.Size: 18 x 6 cm (7 x 2.3 inches)

Redwall squirrel loveliness.
Size: 18 x 6 cm (7 x 2.3 inches)

Another one I really love. The style and finish is perfect, I think it is just wonderfully done. Also, something on like this on the door would just be one of those details that makes a house more homey and cozy feeling.

Another one I really love. The style and finish is perfect, I think it is just wonderfully done. Also, something on like this on the door would just be one of those details that makes a house more homey and cozy feeling.
Size: 13 x 6 cm (5 x .3 inches)

Aakrati Brassware alibaba com ornate frog toad amphibian doorknocker coolness

I like the way this one looks. Plus, a toad door knocker would be pretty unique.
Size: 9 x 7 cm (3.5 x 2.75 inches)

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass mermaid door knocker

I also think mermaids are awesome.
Size: 16 x 9 cm (6.3 x 3.5 inches)

This one is so cool. It makes me think of a pair of Firebirds, or phoenixes. Also, that bird that guarded the fruit in Aslan's garden in The Magician's Nephew by C. S. Lewis and illustrated by the incredibly talented Pauline Baynes.

This one is so cool. It makes me think of a pair of Firebirds, or phoenixes. Also, that bird that guarded the fruit in Aslan’s garden in The Magician’s Nephew by C. S. Lewis and illustrated by the incredibly talented Pauline Baynes.

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass elephant door knocker

A very exotic Asian elephant door knocker to go with your elephant door handle.

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass gargoyle door knockers

Creepy gargoyle and scary face door knockers PERFECT for Halloween.

Also good for Halloween, but I think this might be a Foo Dog, so you might want to leave it up all year. Also, it reminds me of the Cave of Wonders. If Ali Baba's cave had a doorknocker, I don't think it would be unreasonable to think it would look wuite like this.

I think this might be a Foo Dog 🙂 Also, it reminds me of the Cave of Wonders. If Ali Baba’s cave had a doorknocker, I don’t think it would be unreasonable to think it would look quite like this.

Aakrati Brassware alibaba com tropical parrots, ornate, and creepy go away face door knockers

Another cool set.
I love the parrots for obvious reasons, namely that parrots are awesome and add that tropical Margaritaville flair.
The ornate one in the middle is just elegant and luxe and beautiful.
The scary face is actually kind of goofy. So it’s kind of like, kitsch? But creepy? I don’t know. Again, good for Halloween. Reminds me of that scary scene in the Christmas Carol.

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com hand door knocker

Need a hand? When other people won’t lift a finger, this guy will.
Cool and kind of elegant for some reason.

A Hamsa Hand door knocker! We've all seen these on jewelry and clothing, but here is one for your door! It is a symbol of protection.

A Hamsa Hand door knocker! We’ve all seen these on jewelry and clothing, but here is one for your door! It is a symbol of protection.

How much random fun would this be on a door? I mean, it's a camel! Using a beautifully detailed caravan camel doorknocker on a suburban door would absolutely make my day.I think this would be great for Christmas and Epiphany, you know, to commemorate the 3 Wise Men's journey to see the Christ child.

How much random fun would this be on a door? I mean, it’s a camel! Using a beautifully detailed caravan camel doorknocker on a suburban door would absolutely make my day.
I think this would be great for Christmas and Epiphany, you know, to commemorate the 3 Wise Men’s journey to see the Christ child.

Another bit of wonderful randomness, this ornate Indian cow is just plain neat-o, a conversation starter for sure!

Another bit of wonderful randomness, this ornate Indian cow is just plain neat-o, a conversation starter for sure!

Aakrati Brassware alibaba com cool dog doorknocker

This dog is swell. I’d like him to guard my door 🙂

GORGEOUS ORNATE LOCKS I WOULD LOVE TO DECORATE WITH. SERIOUSLY, AREN’T THEY BEAUTIFULLY BAD-ASS?

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com hardware antique fancy drawer lock and skeleton key

I absolutely LOVE antique locks and the skeleton keys that go with them. If I had my way (and money) I would install these on basically every piece of furniture in my house.

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass Sum Mustache Surya ornate lock

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass ornate turtle lock keys decorative

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass ornate lock fish

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass fish ornate lock

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass ornate boy figure lock

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass ornate Buddha lock

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass ornate Oriental horse lock

MY PERSONAL FAVORITE LOCKS:

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass ornate lion lock

Perfect for making sure people don’t use your magic wardrobe that sometimes lets you go to other worlds without your permission 😉

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brass ornate dance with dolphin lock

I DANCE WITH DOLPHINS!!!

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com iron mayan face foo dog lock

This looks so much like Mayan bas relief carvings, which I always thought were pretty cool. But how cool is this as a lock? And it’s so detailed! I really love this. And the best part is it’s functional and beautiful.

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com brassKGB Captain Sir Thomas Filed Marshall funny lock

I definitely want this guy protecting my stuff. For one thing, he looks like Inspector Gadget. But the lock (from what I can read) says that he is Field Marshall Sir Thomas of the KGB. I want to laugh, but I don’t dare.

NOT EXACTLY SURE WHAT THESE ARE

Aakrati Brassware alibaba com ornate Doms Small Brass Door

These would be absolutely incredible as nailheads for furniture or screws or plate covers for doorbells or curtain rod finials. They are just so detailed and pretty.

HUGE ORIENTAL UMBRELLAS

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com ornate garden umbrella sotheast asia

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com ornate big size umbrella sotheast asia

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com ornate big beach umbrella sotheast asia

THEY ALSO SELL REALLY COOL RENAISSANCE-FESTIVAL-TENT LOOKING LAMPS

Aakrati Brasssware alibaba com decorative chandelier Renaissance tent light

How wonderful is this gypsy pendant light? Oh, very.
They have a lot more colors and styles too.

On their website, they also sell antique electronics like gramophones and telephones! Aaaaaaa!

Aakratibrass com round base gramophone

Aakratibrass com square base gramophone

Aakratibrass com antique candlestick telephone

I like these.

Aakratibrass com really antique wall-mount telephone

These are cool.

Aakratibrass com antique telephone

I love this.

This post could go on and on (and I guess it kind of already has) but they also make a multitude of knick-knacks and other things.

Like this beautiful oil lamp.

I just love the work this company does. And I think they will also do custom work if you want. Looking at all the neat things, I felt like I was walking through Target, or World Market, or a indie furniture or antiques store, the wonderful feeling of being inspired by a bunch of imaginative, fun, stylistic, and well-made pieces that just fuel the juices in the brain.

What did you think? Did you notice some typos? Just want to say you design too? Awesome! Leave me a comment! Even if you are reading this 10 years after I originally posted it. Good design is universal and timeless.

Leave a Reply

