M. C. Escher-esque Amazing Tile Work By Jean-Pierre Raynaud

Hello all!

I found these pictures on one of my favorite design/art blogs, ImRevolting.net (isn’t that a great URL?)

I just had to share this amazing house by Jean-Pierre Raynaud. It is described as “Cartesian” because Rene DesCartes allegedly invented the grid/graph system.

It reminds me a bit of M. C. Escher’s surreal works.

Jean-Pierre Raynaud’s la Maison de La Celle-Saint-Cloud, closed in 1988, via Enclave/Frieze:

“A catalogue of the paradigms of modernity stands before the viewer’s eyes: the grid and apparently endless Cartesian space; the perspective that is its correlate; repetition; mass-production and the collapse of the original; and alienation through loss of the individual.”

imrevolting net Jean-Pierre Raynaud white Escher tile work

Built in planters are pretty much always a “Win” in my book. Also, white orchids. Mmmm.

 

imrevolting net Jean-Pierre Raynaud white Escher tile work steps

Those STAIRS. And look how shiny the tiles are!

 

imrevolting net Jean-Pierre Raynaud white Escher tile work bed

Even the bed! A BUILT IN bed Ooooo

 

imrevolting net Jean-Pierre Raynaud white Escher tile work la maison de la celle-saint-cloud

Tiled table! (Built in?) Can you tell how much I love this?

 

How FANTASTIC is that, right?

BONUS ROUND:

And for good measure, I wanted to share a incredible scene that this house reminded me of from one of my absolute favorite animated movies, “An Arabian Knight” (also known as “The Thief And The Cobbler”, although that version has less dialog).

The scene starts at about 8:52

One reason this movie is so great is because of the heavy influence of one of my favorite illustrators, artist Errol Le Cain.

Hope you guys have been enjoying the holidays. My heart goes out to everyone in retail. I’m feeling your pain cuz I’m in the trenches too 😉

Leave a Reply

